Skip to content

michael ignatieff the next pm?

September 12, 2010

I was thinking today as I drank my coffee about the radio interview I heard on thursday. Michael Ignatieff was speaking about his bus tour, and the point and likely Liberal election theme is going to be based around the idea of a ‘big red tent’. I am personally not that big of a fan of Ignatieff, but I do know that the Liberals are much better at running the Federal government then the joke that is Stephen Harper and his cabinet. I think it is a pretty smart idea for the LPC to run in the middle, and if it is successful, there could be a turn around in canadian politics. I think that the LPC could make a good case for being the political centre in Canada, and if it works, they will topple the Harper gov’t. One additional advantage I could see happening, is if a few Liberal seats would go NDP, as long as the Grits take more from the Tories then they loose, then it would strengthen the chances of progressive legislation being passed. The LPC and NDP are not enemies, and I think a coalition would be in the best interest of Canada.

I will post about my classes on wednesday, so stay tuned.
GLS

2 Comments leave one →
  1. utopiaorbust permalink
    September 14, 2010 2:29 pm

    What are your thoughts on Quebecois separatism? I read Ignatieff was for some kind of independent Quebec nation. As an anarchist that’s not exactly my “political” position, but I seem to always be more in favor of separatist movements than for national unification. However, both are essentially nationalist.

    What classes are you taking? Also, I wrote a kind of long reply to your question last week about Marxism and postmodernism.

    – UOB

    • great lake swimmer permalink
      September 14, 2010 5:41 pm

      I am kind of both ways on an independent quebec. on the one hand, if it did split away it would be a better country then what canada would be left with, but on the other there is alot of benefits for remaining a single country, and if i recall correctly it was unsure how indepependent a quebec would really be. quebec is just as much part of the canadian identity, and is one of the things that seperates canadians from americans, but I see your point about supporting indepence over unification.

      As far as classes go, I am taking formal logic, hegel on the modern state, epistemic value, and funnily enough quebec in the 20th century. now that you have brought this up, I will think up a position, do some research and write an effort post on quebec sepratism.

      I see that you have put your post up, but today I have nine hours of class, so I do not think I will be able to address and give it a proper reading until thursday or friday.

Leave a Reply

